Skip to main content

Odile Bain Memorial Prize 2024

The 'Odile Bain Memorial Prize' (OBMP) is awarded annually by Parasites & Vectors in association with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health, to perpetuate the memory of Odile Bain (28/04/1939 – 16/10/2012).

This award has been established for Odile's outstanding contribution to medical and veterinary parasitology, her actions in encouraging productive collaborations among biologists, veterinarians, physicians, and fundamental and applied parasitologists, worldwide. This award also honours her support to young parasitologists and enthusiasm for parasitology.

Evaluation committee

Chair: Domenico Otranto
Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health: Fred Beugnet
Parasites & Vectors: Filipe Dantas-Torres
Four independent parasitologists

Nominees should:

  • Have made significant and important contributions to the study of parasites or vectors of medical or veterinary importance, reflecting Odile Bain’s personal research;
  • Be 40 years of age or less (on 16th October in the year of the award);
  • Have received their PhD within the last seven years.

Nominations are to be made by a proposer and a seconder, by sending via email:


1. A statement describing the innovative nature and excellence of the work plus how her/his personal research reflects Odile's research, maximum 400 words

2. A Curriculum Vitae (please include date of birth, education) and a list of the most relevant publications referenced in PubMed (no more than 10) with H-index

3. A summary of the work done during the PhD, year PhD awarded and awarding Institution maximum 400 words

Sending nominations:

These documents should be sent to Professor Domenico Otranto to arrive by 29th February 2024.

The winner will receive:

  • A cash prize of 1500 Euros;
  • A waiver of the charges for publication of one article in Parasites & Vectors, which may be claimed at any time within the four years following acceptance of the award;
  • The registration fee to attend the meeting where the winner will be awarded the prize.

*In certain circumstances, the winner(s) may receive a different prize reward.

Past winners of the Odile Bain Memorial Prize

2024 winners:

Dorota Dwużnik-Szarek, University of Warsaw, Poland

Pablo David Jimenez Castro, Antech Diagnostics, USA

2023 winners:

Alireza Sazmand, Department of Pathobiology, Bu-Ali Sina University, Iran

Nichola Calvani, Molecular Parasitology Laboratory, University of Galway, Ireland

2022 winner:

Jairo Alfonso Mendoza Roldan, Department of Veterinary Medicine, University of Bari, Italy

2021 winners:

Goylette Chami, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford, UK

Barbora Pafčo, Czech Academy of Sciences and University of Veterinary Sciences, Brno, Czech Republic

2020 winners:

Adnan Hodžić (OBMP 2020 winner), University of Veterinary Medicine, Vienna, Austria

Angela M. Ionică (OBMP 2020 joint winner), University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine of Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Alicia Rojas (OBMP 2020 joint winner), The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel and University of Costa Rica

2019 winners:

Vito Colella, University of Melbourne, Australia

Amanda Duarte Barbosa, Murdoch University, Australia

2018 winners:

Brecht Devleesschauwer, Belgian Scientific Institute of Public Health, Belgium

Giovanni Benelli, University of Pisa, Italy

2017 winners:

Alejandro Cabezas-Cruz, French National Institute for Agricultural Research (INRA), France

Luc Edgar Coffeng, Erasmus University Medical Center Rotterdam, Netherlands

2016 winners:

Filipe Dantas-Torres (OBMP 2016 winner), Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz), Brazil

Guo-Hua Liu (OBMP 2016 joint winner), Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China

Guilherme Verocai (OBMP 2016 joint winner), University of Georgia, USA

2015 winners:

Abdul Jabbar, University of Melbourne, Australia

Xiaoyun Wang, University of Chicago, USA

2014 winners:

Cinzia Cantacessi, University of Cambridge, UK

Stefanie Knopp, Swiss Tropical Health Institute, Switzerland and National History Museum, UK

Annual Journal Metrics

  • Citation Impact 2023
    Journal Impact Factor: 3.0
    5-year Journal Impact Factor: 3.3
    Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP): 1.137
    SCImago Journal Rank (SJR): 0.967

    Speed 2023
    Submission to first editorial decision (median days): 4
    Submission to acceptance (median days): 82

    Usage 2023
    Downloads: 4,110,661
    Altmetric mentions: 5,998